Is It Really Worship?

On Sunday mornings at SVBC we’re studying the Gospel of John. It’s been an exciting study as we’ve looked at the person of Jesus Christ in both His deity and His humanity. John chapter 4 relates the story of the Samaritan woman and Jesus as they met at Jacob’s well. When she brought up the issue of worship in verse 20 I took several weeks to address this subject since there are so many different ideas in the church today about worship. I want to repeat here some of what I shared with our church family in those sermons (sorry for repeating myself!).

It seems to me that the evangelical church has confused, ignored or forgotten some of the major issues involved in worship. For example, by definition worship is about God and not about us. However, the way many worship services are designed it becomes all about the individual; what I like, what moves me, how I feel, etc. There’s nothing wrong with benefitting from a church worship service, and I hope that you do, however, that is secondary to what we offer to God in our times or worship. So the question is; Is God getting anything out of our worship services or is it all about me?

Another aspect of worship that seems to be forgotten in the church today is that God is looking for worshipers (John 4:23), not Sunday worshipers. In other words, God is looking for people whose lives are characterized by their worship of Him. What we do on Sunday is important, but not more important than what we do the rest of the week. God desires people whose lives radiate worship every day. A friend recently drew my attention to Psalm 145, a Psalm that describes this kind of worshiper:

 I will exalt you, my God the King; I will praise your name forever and ever.

Every day I will praise you and extol your name forever and ever.

Great is the LORD and most worthy of praise; his greatness no one can fathom.

One generation will commend your works to another; they will tell of your mighty acts.

They will speak of the glorious splendor of your majesty, and I will meditate on your wonderful works.

They will tell of the power of your awesome works, and I will proclaim your great deeds.

They will celebrate your abundant goodness and joyfully sing of your righteousness.

The phrase they will celebrate your abundant goodness literally means to flow, pour out or gush forth about God’s great goodness in our lives. And it will be a daily occurrence. So here’s another thought-provoking question; How will worship flow out of your life today?

There is so much more about worship but if we could just get these two issues right it would make such a difference in our lives and in the world.

For today, remember that the Father is seeking you. He desires your worship.

Leave a Reply

