Thinking Right

As a child my family would often gather together in the evening after supper for a time of worship. I can remember how impatient I was and how my mind would wander as we read the Bible and prayed. I couldn’t wait until I could escape to the outdoors to run and play. Even though I don’t remember many specifics about our worship times, there are two truths that were instilled in me that I carry with me even now. The first is the importance of the Word of God for my life. Even at a young age I somehow sensed that what we were doing was important and it was important because it revolved around God’s Word. The second truth that was impressed upon me was in the form of a prayer that we prayed every evening. After my father concluded a short Bible reading and someone in the family prayed, we would end our time of worship with this prayer, passed down to us from my grandparents:

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable

in your sight, O Lord, my strength and my redeemer. Amen.

It wasn’t until I was older that I realized that this prayer was actually from the Bible. You can find it in Psalm 19:14. I’m sure that I had been told many times that it was a prayer of David’s but my young mind was not interested. This morning in my Bible reading I read several of the Psalms, including Psalm 19 and it brought back so many memories as I reread those familiar words.

Think about David’s prayer for a moment. If what we say and what we think about are always acceptable to God, it’s going to keep us out of a lot of trouble. In the context of Psalm 19, David had just asked God to keep him from sin, both unintentional sins and intentional sins. Then he prayed this prayer. What he was saying was that the way to keep from sin is to make sure that what we say and what we think are always acceptable to God; that they are in line with God’s Word. The Apostle Paul put it this way in the New Testament: bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ (2 Corinthians 10:5). That’s a worthy goal for every Christian – to capture our minds and bring our thoughts into conformity with the way Christ thinks. When our thoughts are in conformity to Christ, then what we say will also be in conformity to Christ.

As you go through your week, make this your prayer: that the words you speak and the thoughts you think are always acceptable to God. He will give you the strength that you need to do it – just ask Him.

Stay in the Word

Pastor Steve

Leave a Reply

