A Clay Pot

Yesterday I shared the news with our church family at SVBC that I had a biopsy test positive for melanoma.  My mother passed away in October of 2008 from melanoma so this news put us in a state of shock for a few days.  As I tried to process what this might mean for the future, I began to write down some of my thoughts.  It was my way of dealing with the news while at the same time interacting with my faith.  I also wanted to encourage other people who might be dealing with bad news.  I want to share with you something I wrote the day after I received the phone call from my doctor.  You can read some of my other thoughts at:  www.claypotjourney.wordpress.com

A Clay Pot

If you are wondering about the name of my blog, let me explain.  As a Christian I believe that the Bible is the Creator God’s way of communicating with us.  When we talk about God, one of the mental mistakes we sometimes make is to think of Him as some sort of superhuman being.  God yes, but just a bigger and better human.

But God is not a superhuman being.  In fact God is fundamentally and qualitatively different from us.  For example, we are physical, God is spirit; we are temporary, God is eternal, we are bound by time and space, God is not.  The list could go on and on, but you get the idea.  One of the greatest differences between us and God is that God is the Creator and we are the created and that is a huge difference.  Being the creator of something means that you own it, that you can do with it whatever you want to do, and that no one can tell you what to do with it.

When it comes to my life, that is exactly the relationship that I have with God. The Bible says “You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb” (Psalm 139:13).  In other words, God created me and as the Creator He owns me and has the right to do with me whatever He wants to do without anyone, including me, telling Him what to do.

The Bible expresses our relationship with the Creator God this way; “Does not the potter have power over the clay, from the same lump to make one vessel for honor and another for dishonor?(Romans 9:21).  The answer is, of course.  God as the creator has not only the power but the right to do whatever He wants to do with our lives.

I’m not saying that God gave me melanoma anymore than I can say that He sent the earthquake as a judgment on Haiti.  We can’t know the mind of God.  Ultimately sin is the reason for sickness and death. No sin, no sickness.  Could God heal me or you?  Certainly.  Does He always heal sick people?  No – and we don’t know why.  After all He is God and we’re not.

All I’m trying to say is that God knows what is going on in my life and if it is not in His plan for my life to heal me that’s fine. I’m just a clay pot on a journey that will someday lead me to the Potter’s house.

Please feel free to share my blog with anyone that you think it might benefit.  And remember that we’re just clay pots, here for the Master to use any way he desires.

Stay in the Word

Pastor Steve

Leave a Reply

